Mmm Pancakes…


Breakfast time can truly be a hassle with children. Some days it feels like you cook breakfast, you clean, you make lunch, you clean, you cook dinner, you clean and it’s bed time. It’s not like when you live alone and you can starve all day just because you are too lazy to cook anything. My problem is that everything that is store bought for fast breakfasts is full of junk chemicals or that the organic stuff is full of your wallet, dust balls and all.

So, what do we do? Well, I have one idea. I found an oatmeal pancake recipe, doctored it up to make it my own yumminess and tripled the recipe, which, I think next time I am just going to quadruple it because on the days my Babe wants to eat pancakes, he will EAT pancakes, if you know what I mean! So, what I do is cook all of the batter and then freeze the rest for days I need a ‘fast and easy’, or just because I am tired breakfast. Here’s is the short version. You have to make sure you like them before committing.

Oatmeal Pancakes (about 10 1/4 cup pancakes)
1 Egg
3/4c Buttermilk
1/2tsp Vanilla
2Tbs Maple Syrup
1Tbs (Melted) Coconut Oil
1/2tsp salt
1/2tsp Baking Soda
1tsp Baking Powder

<div style="text-align:justify;"

Mix, then add…
1/2c Oatmeal Flour (or you could grind 1/2c of Oats)
1/2c Organic Flour
Mix and then cook them up on a lightly greased pan (I use coconut oil). To me, these are so good, you can eat them without syrup. The boys love it when I just sprinkle “snow” or as we all know as powdered sugar. You can freeze the rest and then pop them in the Microwave for a speedy breakfast. 

***Here is the original recipe web address, because LA Chef, deserves Kudos!
http://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/21384/oatmeal-pancakes-ii/

***Note: We went gluten free for a year because of my husbands issues with what we thought was with wheat. But come to find out, it wasn’t the wheat, but the enrichments in flour and rice. So, if you know anyone going through issues, please let them know of this possibly, it may make their life a lot easier.
Until Next Time,
καλή όρεξη (Bon Appetite in Greek)
Leave a Reply

