What Takes You to Your ‘Happy Place’


Walking through Target, I stopped at the book aisle and started to read book covers, I first saw, “How To Be a Good Wife” by Emma Chapman. It sounded interesting, and I held onto it. Then I saw Emily Giffins “Where We Belong” sounded interesting, but I put that one back on the shelf. Usually, I check book titles and then reserve them at the library. But then I saw this.

11230081

I have no idea why, but I just started laughing. I turned the book over and and this is what it read…

“Oh, hi. I’m so glad you decided to turn the book over. As you probably know, this is normally where authors put nice quotes from fancy people praising their book. I’m a little uncomfortable with that. It feels like a gimmick to get people to buy it and I don’t believe in cheap tricks like that. Besides, I know you’re way too smart and beautiful to fall for that kind of stuff.”

Just that, let out a giggle out of me and put a big smile on my face, the rest of that back cover had me straight up laughing out loud as people pass me by looking at me with either amusement or because they thought I was crazy. I had actually gone out of the house without the family, so I had a little time to read the first the first couple pages and it made me belly laugh. I really enjoy her humor. So I decided that I was going to forgo the library this time and add it to my personal collection.

I believe that everyone should have things that make them laugh, zen, relax in their home. Things that make you go back to your “happy place” or makes you get back to earth and reflect. There are too many stresses in life that make you go into a funk. The cranky funk, the sad funk, the foggy funk, I think you get my point. So when you don’t have that friend around to cheer you up, you pull out one of your favorites.

So far, my favorite funny movie EVER is “Anger Management” with Adam Sandler and Jack Nicholson. Something about the I feel pretty scene, it just gets me. I guess the fact that I have an Uncle who reminds me of “Buddy”, it’s just hilarious. Sometimes so much that it makes me want to ask my uncle to sing, “fa, la, la, la, la, laaa, lala”. Ha! I can’t contain myself here! Another movie I do love is “Scary Movie”. Part one and two, but I have seen them so much, I need like a five year break.

I also have my favorite dance movie which is “Center Stage” with Zoe Saldana. My zen favorite is “Eat, Pray, Love” with Julia Roberts. That movie does something to me that makes me want to go to Italy, eat everything, buy bigger jeans and “smile with liver”. Finally, as far as movies that lift me up go, I love Julie & Julia with Merryl Streep and Amy Adams. That movie makes me cook something delicious. Mmmmm! Just thinking about it makes me want to start cooking!

I think that I am going to have a bookshelf that will only house the things that make me “smile with liver”. So that anytime I see it, I get reminded. The only issue with that is that I cannot have Nutella within my eye sight because it will cause self control issues. You see, Nutella was a special treat that I ate in Puerto Rico as a little girl. So, when I eat it, the taste of it flies me back in time into third and fourth grade when I had the best of friends whom I created so many memories with that they are just treasure in my heart. Alas, the Nutella can stay in the cupboard.

I am headed now to start reading my book, I hope that by the time I finish it, I will figure out my book shelf idea so I can add the book too! So tell me, what makes you Zen?

Leave a Reply

