Sleepy Novel


In November for the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), you have 30 days to finish a 50,000 word novel. About the size of The Great Gatsby. You have to put your inner editor away and write straight through without looking back. (I decided that I was up to the challenge.)  Problem with that was that I was so tired that month, that I kept forgetting the name of my characters. So was it Marco or Mike? Nancy or Mandy? Do not even ask me because I am just as clueless as you are. I followed the rules without a thought and managed to write a 50,000 novel in 25 days.

Then I took some advise and took time off to then read the Novel with fresh eyes in January. I took the break even though it was not easy. I wanted to peak on my novel as much as I wanted to peek on Santa when I was a child. I overcame curiosity and waited until January. Hooray for willpower!!!

I read the first chapter last night. Next thing I know I am laughing so hard and you cannot even guess why. It was morning. My first chapter put me to sleep! I am not kidding, I fell asleep. I do not remember putting the pad down and passing out. No book ever has put me to sleep before! That really means something…like…um….”zzzzzzzzZZZZZZZ”. Oh, sorry. Just thinking about it puts me in a haze.

All jokes aside, what do I do now? I do not want to leave this project unfinished. But how do I even read this thing, then edit it if I cannot stay awake? I think I rather clean the cabinet I have been putting off than to read this.

I am not putting myself down. In fact, I am elated at the fact that I took the challenge and finished it 5 days before deadline, with a couple of days off in between! Especially it being my first attempt at writing. I am just wondering if I should scratch it and start writing an outline for this November or if I should just stick it out, drink Red-bull and a pot of coffee to get me through. I know that the decision is ultimately mine, but any little piece of advice would be appreciated.

Until Next Time,

Read my chapter 1 if you cannot sleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

