Off to Your Room!!!


My boys ages 5 and 3 have slept with us since birth. Why?!? My big boys first night home, I found him face down because he rolled over his bassinet, his face between the little mattress and the “wall”. I then became the lightest slept in the world. No matter how tired I was, of you moved, breathed irregularly EV been dreamed….I was up.

Fast forward to today, why are they still sleeping in our room? Because we love to cuddle with the boys. Plus my Little guy gives me a million kisses almost any time he rolls over. What can I say? I am addicted to love. So that is my reason.

But the tides are changed. We are no longer getting much needed sleep. Or boys must dream about being acrobats. A first here, a toe in the eyes, a knee to the boob. Seriously, is crazy.

So I offered a million treats if they both so spent the night in the room… And to my surprise, they both agreed. Read them a super long story, and one was down. I am sure the big guy is also sleeping, but very lightly, so even though I’m at the foot of the bed, I am afraid to move.

Wish me luck. I hope they stay, I hope I don’t cave. I love my kisses. But what is a mommy to do. I need sleep.

Sorry for typos…I am too tired to do anything about it.

3 thoughts on “Off to Your Room!!!

  1. I am in the same boat with you right now! My son is 6 and he still doesn’t sleep through the night. He always wants to sleep with me, but he usually will fall asleep on the couch and at some point end up in my bed. Just this week I made him start sleeping in his own room, he has a big queen size bed and I have to lay with him until he falls asleep then I can escape. I was just losing so much sleep. When he wakes me up in the middle of the night I can hardly ever go back to sleep (not to mention the feet in the face, getting slapped, etc).
    My daughter slept with me until she was 6 but that was because I was dirt poor and we had to shared a room and a bed. I love to cuddle with my kids too, especially boys because they hardly want that during the day. But it was also time for me to get some sleep, and for him to be a big boy and sleep in his own room! Good luck to you, and happy sleeping 🙂

    Like

    • How exhausting! It is a bittersweet sending them off… A milestone…. Growing up…I sure you’re just tired of being tired like me.
      I slept like a rock until almost 3am! They woke up. Big guy went to bed with daddy, little guy wanted to stay, but wanted me with him. But I couldn’t sleep. But the kisses! I love the kisses!

      I hope we could both figure this one out and that it works for us! Best of wishes!☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

