The Call


So, with all of the things going on this week…homeschooling, fixing the house and packing. I really didn’t do much as far as taking the kids to socialize especially since their club classes do not start until September 24. (But they played with their cousins 4 days this week and I also took them to the playground and museum.)

We have a gym/swim class and soccer on Tuesdays, pending gymnastics on Wednesday. Storytime and open swim on Thursdays. Open gymnastics on Fridays. If gymnastics doesn’t work, I’ll sign them up for open play where we can go Monday through Friday. To me, that is plenty socialization. But today, Babe got the call from his parents.

They don’t think my kids are going to get enough socialization through homeschooling and they would like to pay for them to go to private Catholic school.

As much as I appreciate the offer, it boils my blood that they do not trust me to do right by my kids. I bet if I said that to them, they would say, it is not the case. But that is exactly what it is.

It is funny, I have talked to teachers, principals, even a priest who was a teacher and they all tell me that it is the best decision a parent could make.

I made this decision because I know I can do better than the schools surrounding me. Morality has taken a back seat and even teachers turn their cheeks to bullying and other serious problems. Girls are getting punished because boys make sexist comments. And I see how cruel kids are now a days. My kids experience bullies when they play at the park with school kids. It amazes me at how vulgar and mean they can be. Also, the fact that children are being put on anxiety medication because of the pressure they are put through now is really disturbing.

Of course, I’m not sure how we will do… Heck, I may send the kids to school next year if it doesn’t work. Kindergarten is not even a requirement here. So, I should be all le to give this thing a try without all of the crap.

Today, an 8 year old punched my 3 year old in the face because he didn’t want him to go down the slide today. Before that,  the kid’s mother was cursing little kids out for bumping into her kid in the bounce house. This is the kind of world we live in here… And I’m not sorry that I want to give my kids better.

The family see how smart my kids are, how respectful, outgoing, and thoughtful they are. They all talk about how they want my kids to play with theirs so they can rub off on theirs. It is because I work hard to instill those mannerisms into my children. Teach them responsibility for their actions and respect, how to treat others the way they want to be treated. But yet the family has a problem with me homeschooling. It doesn’t make any sense.

Every decision has ups and downs. And I do not tell other people how to raise their children because what is right for us, may not be right for them and vice versa. Parenting is hard enough on its own. Where I live, and the difficulties around me have guided me to this decision.

But after getting furious, crying a little, well a lot, fuming for the day and now venting here. I am taking a deep breath, and letting it go because at the end of the day, I am the parent and I know and love my children more than anyone else. I am doing what I am for them, not for anyone else.

And you know what? I feel good about it, I’m going to give it my best and that is all that matters.

End of Story…

8 thoughts on “The Call

  1. As a home schooling mom, I just want to encourage you. I know exactly how that feels, people saying how great the kids are to be around, but yet questioning our decision to home school. I was able to try out home schooling with my twins because they missed the cut off date to start kindergarten. I continued it all the way through high school, and added two more kids along the way. My twins will be 20 on Sunday 🙂 When my son was a senior, he decided to go to the local public school (which was small and across the street) just so he would have the experience. He graduated with an A/B average, and when I went to parent/teacher conferences, all his teachers said what joy it was to have him in their classes. It’s a lot of work, but the benefits and rewards outweigh that. Hang in there, you can do it!! Just know that all home schooling moms do struggle with the doubt if they are capable of doing a good enough job. If you ever have any questions, about home schooling, don’t hesitate to ask, just email me 🙂

    Btw I had my youngest son when I was 37, and was also packing up a house to move. I have to say, you amaze me by how much you are getting done though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

