Color Me Irish


Oh, my husband is Irish, with Italian Flavor and a dash of German. What I mean by Italian Flavor in spite of being mostly Irish, he was raised with Italian food being his soul food.

In honor of St. Patrick’s, I decided that today, I would make some Irish soda bread for my loved ones to go along with a chicken stew currently in my crock pot. Until I taste and approve of my stew, I won’t rate it. But I will tell you of the awesome soda bread.

I found it at allrecipies. So easy and fast. I have never made it before, but when I tasted it, it was so delish that I thought I became an Irish woman.

Oh how delicious, how lovely, how soul feeding.

4 cups all-purpose flour
4 tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup margarine softened

Mix together, then add…

1 cup buttermilk
1 egg

You take all of the ingredients and mix together, then do buttermilk and egg. I just realized I never put the egg in, but it was awesome! But then, you take…

1/4 cup butter melted
1/4 cup buttermilk

And rub it on top. So we put it in a preheated oven (375°) for 50 minutes and….

I forgot to take a pic before we ate the bread… It was so good.

Hopefully, you will try it.

Sweet Day!

Leave a Reply

