Consistency


Love Dare for Parents is not just a one time thing, it is life changing, at least for me. So even though I’ve only read a couple of chapters, I’ve been applying those dares as a diversion when I’m getting angry, when the boys are sad just when I can think of it.

Day 1: Love Blooms Dare: Say ‘I love you’. I’ve done it every day since they were born. I always tell the boys I love them so much that they are always telling me too. Other also do notice how loving my children are.

Day 2: Love is Patient: write it somewhere you can see it. I wrote it on the bathroom mirror in marker.

Day 3: Love is Kind: I also wrote this on the mirror just because, but the dare was to do something kind for them unexpectedly. This is normal practice for us. We do little “surprises” for each other. We call them “I love you presents” which could be an actual present (little one) a drawing, candy, gum or gesture… Like I said, it’s the little things.

Day 4: Love Values: This dare is to take a moment to tell your children…”you are a priceless gift to me, and I am grateful that you are in my life“. I make it a habit of telling the boys reasons why I love them and how much they mean to me. Both boys reacted the same when I told them the line… Gave me big hugs, a kiss and said “I love you mommy.” Hopefully, it’s something they pass on to their kids and grandkids.

Q: Do you tend to view your children as a burden of life or a blessing from God?

A: Thankfully, I have always admitted that my children saved me emotionally. I never thought I was valuable until I became a Mother. So they are definitely a gift from God.

Q: How do you need to change your view of them?

A: I need to remember that I don’t want robots. That even though I want them to listen to me, I’m not always right and they have the right to say so. Respectfully of course.

Day 5: Love is Wonderful:

image

Done!

Q: What strength do you recognize in each of your children and how can you show gratitude for how Good designed them.

A: Both boys are very sweet and compassionate towards others and animals. They do things for others to help our make them feel better.

My Doodle is really good at soccer. Especially when he gets competitive. He is a very good listener even when he fidgets. Also, he remembers everything.

My Munchkin is independent, he can do it all himself. He is also stubborn which I think it’s a strength because he doesn’t let anyone persuade him when he wants something.

They do request one on one time together, which we do try to fulfill as much as we can.

5 Dares that I have been practicing on a daily basis. Oh how I have a long way to go, but I am trying the best I can for them. And so, I read on to the next Dare…

3 thoughts on “Consistency

  1. I love this post! Good for you on taking on the dare to be a loving parent. It is soooo hard! But I believe God reveals Himself to us through our circumstances, joys, challenges, and our children! I have learned so much in life since I became a mom. You are doing an amazing job! Keep up the good work and hang in there. Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

