Go in Time Out!


My little man here has been testing the waters. Screaming to try to get his way. He has the pitch to make your ears bleed, but it doesn’t work. 
I can scream louder, and I have. Why? Because sometimes, I run out of sanity. Sometimes, I want to be a 4 year old throwing a temper tantrum. Because I sometimes feel hopeless that I’m screwing up parenting. 

But I figured something out, to give myself a time out and make him wait for me.

Wait, what? 

Well, here’s the thing. Sometimes when I feel like I’m going to lose it, I tell the boys. “Mommy is angry and I don’t want to say anything that is not nice, so I’m taking a time out.”

At first, they were confused, but what else could I do? I am tired and my brain is not functioning correctly, so I give myself time to breath, listen to my Zen song and then deal with issues with a clear head. So what do my boys think?

They fall asleep in the 4 minutes I take to collect the little pieces of sanity floating around. 

Sometimes, it’s really just an argument because we are all tired, but don’t want to admit it. So why fight it?

Give it a try… It may work… Go in time out.

One thought on “Go in Time Out!

  1. Oh my sweet friend, I can relate to those mommy moments. My cute little girl screams for everything. I need to write myself a reminder to stop and pray. I have to be intentional. This mommy thing is crazy hard. You are doing an amazing job! Good for you for taking a time out before it gets crazy. Now you just need to stock some chocolate in your timeout spot 😉 Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

