I Don’t Want to Go Home


For the past three weeks, we’ve been staying at the cottage. Where the boys are spoiled by the grandparents. So on our way home, the boys said to me. “I don’t want to go home, I don’t like our house.”

“Why not?” I wanted to know. “Because it’s small and we can’t run around.” Tell me something I didn’t know. Our house is small and congested. 
My initial thought when they said that was. We are too strict and boring. “Too many rules” said my husband who is the king of rules of boring in the house. Because the house is small, I have to fight with the kids about being quiet in mornings when Babe has worked.

Talk about stressful…

So, I told the boys they can play with playdough as soon as they walked in the door. Oh the mess they made. You’d think they were throwing playdough… Maybe, they were.

Then, as they requested, they made their own pizzas on flour tortillas. They had fun with those.

Then, we watched Zootopia, which by then, my big guy says. “I’m sorry I said I don’t like our house, I forgot that we do fun things here.” Also, my blue says”me too, mommy”, which made me happy.

I finished the night with reading a picture book and a chapter of The Green Ember. 

I think we finished in a good note. I hope tomorrow is just as good in our home. I need to remember to have fun with what we do here and try to live as if we’re on vacation.

What are fun things you do at home?

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to Go Home

  1. Hello Beautiful Mommy! I love your post my friend. Wow. What a wonderful mommy you are. I am so glad your boys were able to embrace the special things you do for them. My kids get spoiled at their grandparent’s house. It is a nice treat for them. I struggle when they come home because they always compare what we have to what they get “at grandma’s house.” I go through the same thing asking if I am too strict. But my precious Jesus always reminds me that I am doing what He has called me to do and that is where I find my peace. I hope you are feeling well and enjoying your children. How are you feeling these days? Still in a fog? Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good Morning! How are you? It has been a while. Thank you! I recognize that we are very demanding of our children and that we need to let go of our stuffiness and have some fun. There will always be a mess, there will always be something to do, but their childhood will be gone in no time. I want them to somewhat never let go of the beauty of childhood. I don’t know. I want to be and have fun with them! Good is good and I’m sure you are doing wonderful job with that kind heart of yours! School activities like field trips have started and it has been fun thus far, and exhausting. How are you?

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are truly a wonderful mommy. When you discover that a dirty house is worth spending more time with your children, that is a blessing. It took me a long time to discover that. Six kids later I am still battling with balancing time and a dirty house. I function better in a orderly house but I am asking the Lord to help me in that area. Everything doesn’t have to be perfect for me to enJOY my kids. It is true. There will always be something else to do. Today I had fun with my kids. I try to have fun every day in some small way. I pray they remember those good times. Our schedule this year is VERY exhausting and we just started. Deep breath…ok! I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I am thankful for you in my life taking this journey with me. You are a wonderful friend and inspirations. Blessings.

        Like

Leave a Reply

