Holiday Spending


To me, the holidays are stressful and full of unnecessary chaos. Every year I make a photo calendars and send cards because it’s the “polite thing to do”. I would have skipped them, but that wasn’t an option from my sweet husband who’s going to do them himself next time if he wants them done. 

We have people that we have to give to, but I am sick of going into debt during Christmas. It’s not the point of the holiday people. 

So we had to make a change. I decided to put the boys to work instead.

I usually buy ornaments $4 a piece. Instead, I had the boys make ornaments with popsicle sticks. I don’t even know how much we saved, but it was a lot.

We got the colored sticks and the boys even made some for Daddy, who was super excited.

They had fun, they put a lot of thought into them and even chose to whom they wanted to give them to. 

I also decided that instead of buying things, we would make coconut macaroons with chocolate inside. Everyone seemed to like them, so win-win, right?

Instead of spending money, I spent time with my boys, doing fun things for other people. Wether or not people really appreciate it, I don’t know. But I’m teaching the boys to do things for others rather than buy. When they get bigger, I will expand our ideas and do more. But for now, homemade cookies and ornament will be the thing. 

Any ideas you feel like sharing?

3 thoughts on “Holiday Spending

  1. I love the idea of giving homemade gifts! I love doing that too. With six kiddos I didn’t want them each buying gifts for every sibling so we picked names out of a jar and they bought a special gift for that sister/brother with their own money. It was neat to see them give outside of themselves. Some made homemade gifts. We limited the dollar amount. I do believe Christmas isn’t about going broke. It is about celebrating the birth of our Savior! He gave the gift to us and it is for us to share in giving. It doesn’t have to be tangible gifts but it can be gifts of love, time, and homemade with popsicle sticks! πŸ™‚ Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

